Book Reviews, Reflections & Recipes
Show MenuHide Menu

The Wonder of You

June 9, 2015
The Wonder of You Book Cover The Wonder of You
The Christiansen Family Series Book #5
Susan Warren
Christian Fiction
Tyndall House Publishers, Inc
June 18, 2015


Description of the book

Mortified after her semester abroad is cut short, Amelia Christiansen returns to Deep Haven, certain she isn’t brave enough for the adventures she’s dreamed of. The last thing she expects is for the man who broke her heart to cross the Atlantic and beg forgiveness.

Heir to a European hotel dynasty, Roark St. John has trekked from one exotic locale to another, haunted by tragedy and the expectations that accompany his last name. Amelia is the first woman to give him a reason to stop running. He’ll do anything for a second chance—even contend with Amelia’s old flame, who is intent on sending Roark packing.

While one surprise after another leaves Amelia reeling, Roark’s continued presence only highlights the questions pursuing her. Like him, is she running from the life God has called her to? Could finding her new place mean leaving home behind?

My review of The Wonder of You

I loved this book! Of course I am a little prejudiced. I love Susan May Warren’s writing. I believe this is the fifth book in the Christiansen Family series. You need not read the other books that came before this one to enjoy it, but I think you will enjoy it more if you do.

This book is a wonderful love story. The young woman who is the focus of this story is the youngest of the Christiansen family. She thought she needed to go abroad to find excitement and adventure. She felt that life in the small resort town Deep Haven, Minnesota was not for her. She set off to Europe to take a photography course. She comes home earlier than planned, and broken hearted. She feels that she has failed as an adventurer and at love.

Her high school sweetheart hopes that she has gotten her adventurous wanderings out of her system and is ready to settle down in Deep Haven, with him. A man she met in Prague shows up on her doorstep, begging forgiveness and asking for a second chance. Roarke St. John may have found the woman he thinks is right for him, but he is running from his own demons. It is not until the two stop searching for what they think they want and start asking God what He wants for them that they find the courage to do what they each need to do.

I can so picture the setting of this book. I would love to go visit that area of the country sometime. A rustic resort, tucked back in the woods with a huge lake as a backdrop sounds like the perfect place to relax.

I love these characters. They feel like close friends that you want to find out more about. The plot takes many twists and turns and keeps you turning the page to find out what happens next. This book is a fun read, I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good, clean romantic read. Let know what you think.

For those of you who would like to read the whole series I have listed them below.

Take a Chance on Me (Christiansen Family, #1)

It Had to Be You (Christiansen Family, #2)

When I Fall in Love (Christiansen Family, #3)

Always on My Mind (Christiansen Family, #4)

The Wonder of You (Christiansen Family, #5

About the author


Growing up in Minneapolis and attending the U of MN, I learned to love city life, although I’m a woodsy girl at heart. Or maybe I’m an adventurer — having lived and traveled all over the world, including Siberia Russia as a missionary for eight years. Probably that’s why my characters can’t sit still, and seem to get into one scrape after another — they’re too much like me! I love God, my family, my country, my church, and feel privileged every day to be able to write stories.


About Terry Houchin

Hi, my name is Terry Houchin. I live on the on the Gulf Coast of Texas with my husband of thirty-eight years and our two dogs, Miley and Shadow. I have two grown sons and a grandson. I am a retired teacher who loves gardening and reading. I am currently working on writing a novel.