Recipes, Reflections and Book Reviews
Show MenuHide Menu

The Whole Town’s Talking

November 14, 2016
The Whole Town's Talking Book Cover The Whole Town's Talking
Fannie Flagg
Humor, satire
Randi House
November 29, 2016
418
Net Galley

Description of The Whole Town’s Talking

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

My review of The Whole Town’s Talking

What an interesting read.

At first I liked the book. It started off in 1889 with a Swedish immigrant, Lordor Nordstrom. He was the founding father of a small town in Missouri, Elmwood Sprngs.

In the first chapter the author sets up the setting for the end of the book. Lordor set aside land, up on a hill overlooking the town, for the cemetery.

Next, he lets the ladies of the town talk him into advertising for a mailorder bride. The courtship and subsquent marriage I thoroughly enjoyed. The whole town got involved in some way or the another. Some wrote letters of recommendation to Katrina on Lordor’s behalf. Someone else cleaned Lordor’s house before Katrina arrived. The Swensens let Katrina live with them until she married Lordor.

Early life in Elmwood Spring Missouri I also liked. New people were arrriving, buildings were being built. Lordor started a dairy farm. I even liked the multiple points of view.

Then in the 1900’s the author kind of gives an overview of the major events that happen, year by year until 1911 when Lordor Nordstrom dies. This is where the story takes a twist. I won’t spoil it for you, but it is very interesting.

After Lordor dies the author gives the recap of events in decades (like the 1920’s, the 1930’s etc.) It is interesting to see the timeline of new inventions and how they effect the residents of this little town.

The story continues all the way to the year 2021. I ddin’t care for the ending, but it was funny.

Overall, I liked the book. It wasn’t the kind of book that I usually enjoy and it won’t be for everyone, but I think it will appeal to a lot of people. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

About the author

310hqjyqtwl-_sy200_FANNIE FLAGG began writing and producing television specials at age nineteen and went on to distinguish herself as an actress and writer in television, films, and the theater. She is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe (which was produced by Universal Pictures as Fried Green Tomatoes), Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!, and Standing in the Rainbow. Flagg’s script for Fried Green Tomatoes was nominated for both the Academy and Writers Guild of America Awards and won the highly regarded Scripters Award. Flagg lives in California and in Alabama.

 

About Terry Houchin

Hi, my name is Terry Houchin. I live on the on the Gulf Coast of Texas with my husband of thirty-eight years and our two dogs, Miley and Shadow. I have two grown sons and a grandson. I am a retired teacher who loves gardening and reading. I am currently working on writting a novel.

Leave a Reply